signup
and receive your
FREE E-Newsletter &
E-Photo book:


Top 10 Learning Experiences
Around the World

 

 

GO
signup


Multi-Country

The Best of the Galápagos and Peru: From Enchanted Islands to Machu Picchu



Number: 18484Duration: 16 nightsActivity Level: Moderately Challenging


Reviews



Submitted by: Brenda from Edmonton, AB
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 03/07/14 - 03/23/14

If you want a top quality experience led by competent guides, this trip is for you! Come prepared to snorkel, hike, take photos and have the time of your life.


Submitted by: Isabel from Boca Raton, FL
Number of programs attended: 13
Date attended: 03/07/14 - 03/23/14

A great program. Bring your hiking boots and sticks, relax and enjoy!


Submitted by: Jim from Warren, RI
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 02/07/14 - 02/23/14

This posting is for 18484 Galapagos, Machu Picchu 2/7 - 2/23 2014. This trip was outstanding 1 week cruise in G'pos to see all the major islands, land and sea life. We swam with the iguanas, sharks, sea turtles, sea lions, rays and much more. G'pos is a very bizarre fascinating place. Went on the MV Legend - 300' boat with good amenities and comfort. The weather was delightful there. The 2 cities where more time was spent were Quito and Cusco - both interesting - 9 and 11000 feet respectively. The travel to and from Machu Picchu was of splendid Andean grandeur. This was supposedly the rainy warm season - the other season is dry cool - but we had virtually no rain and MP day was glorious sunshine and spectacular. Besides, in rainy season the jungle around MP is lush and the river raging. So, if you want to get rid of 17 days of North American winter like me, go Dec to March. The physical demands are significant because of altitude and activity each day that is basically sustained from early AM to late afternoon both in G'pos and mainland. The interpretive guides and lecturers were outstanding. This trip is suited for those used to sustained daily activity as part of their lifestyle. There is little down time unless so chosen. Well worth the money.


Submitted by: Jeanne from Warren, RI
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 02/07/14 - 02/23/14

I loved our recent trip to Galapagos and the Andes in Peru due to not only the amazing places we visited but the outstanding guides and the great group of fellow travelers!


Submitted by: Steve from Ann Arbor, MI
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 01/22/14 - 02/09/14

This program was wonderful, and as advertised, was physically challenging - not so much as to the individual activities, but more so as to the daily pacing of activities. We were moving all the time, and actually lost weight despite eating every meal in sight.


Submitted by: Mark from Studio City, CA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 01/10/14 - 01/26/14

One would think that the inherent appeal of the locales could not be enhanced. This was proven to be an incorrect assumption because the informed, caring, compassionate, and flexible demeanor of our guides provided us with a truly unforgettable experience. Thank you for bringing so much into our lives.


Submitted by: Carol Ann from Koloa, HI
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 11/22/13 - 12/08/13

Peru was as wonderful as I always thought it would be…Machu Picchu and the Heavenly Valley high up in the Andes were a thrill of a lifetime. Ecuador…Galapagos…fabulous wonderful week long boat cruse for 14 people all of whom were great-snorkeling and long hikes with more birds and animals than I have ever seen. Our trip with 4 days in Quito in the fabulous Hotel Quito at 11.500 feet in the Andes where we discovered a fabulous world class contemporary art museum featuring the wonderful South American artist, Oswaldo Guayasamin, and his La Capilla Del Hombre (chapel of Man)….Quito is a beautiful city and worth the trip to South America alone. I now have to sort through the 4000+ photos I took and get a slide show together for other members of our group. A wonderful trip that compares with my trip to East Africa.


Submitted by: Elise from Boston, MA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 11/15/13 - 12/01/13

This program is a bucket list itinerary, and is a great way to be active and outdoors while visiting both of these iconic destinations!


Submitted by: Leona from Augusta, MO
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 10/16/13 - 11/01/13

I had a wonderful time all the guides were informative and the group was great. Could not have asked for more.


Submitted by: Francis from Virginia Beach, VA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 10/16/13 - 11/01/13

Wow; you guys are good. I really can't think of a single detail that was overlooked, over or understated, or not delivered. Wish I had known about Road Scholar years ago.


Submitted by: Margaret from Prince George, VA
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 09/18/13 - 10/04/13

I found my trip to the Galapagos and Peru to be all and more than I had expected. I was great and I would recommend it to anyone.


Submitted by: Barbara from Elmwood Park, NJ
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 08/09/13 - 08/25/13

I traveled as a single woman on my first Road Scholar trip. Definitely out of my comfort zone. The other participants were very helpful. I felt that everyone looked out for each other. I had an awesome experience i am looking forward to my next trip with Road Scholar


Submitted by: Chari from Dallas, TX
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 07/24/13 - 08/09/13

The trip was a delightful adventure


Submitted by: Robert from Morgan Hill, CA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 06/23/13 - 07/09/13

An exciting learning experience with water and land adventures for healthy and active seniors.


Submitted by: Daniel from Boca Raton, FL
Number of programs attended: 3
Date attended: 05/05/13 - 05/21/13

Our trip to Ecuador, Galapagos and Peru, Machu Picchu, exceeded our expectations in most every way. The guides and program content were excellent. The love of the guides for their work/subject-matter made the content even more compelling. Highlights were experiencing Galapagos, Machu Picchu, and Lake Titicaca; listening to the lectures; and enjoying the company of the guides and other tour participants. Accommodations and meals were excellent (buffets are less than gourmet, but they save a lot of time and the food was well above average.) We had a laptop computer in our group and many participants uploaded their photos and videos to the laptop. We then gathered as a group at the end of most every day and reviewed photos and videos while enjoying a recap of the day's activities. This seemed to add to our overall enjoyment. It was especially nice on the boat because we could project from the laptop to TV monitor in the common area (the boat had an HDMI cable that was used to project from the laptop).


Submitted by: Lane from Hilton Head Island, SC
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 05/05/13 - 05/21/13

Galapagos & MP were on my "bucket list". After much research, I chose RS (this is our first trip w/ them). It was the correct decision and a memorable trip. Each traveler has their own set of priorities and interests. A review of all the posts will provide a solid sense of the RS experience. RS enhanced the experience in 3 ways. 1) informative lectures and programs to add context to the places we visited 2)guides/staff to help us during the numerous transportation transfers and most importantly 3)pairing us with a great group of fellow travelers who were willing to share photos, meds, jokes, conversation and guinea pig.


Submitted by: Randall from Dallas, TX
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 05/05/13 - 05/21/13

I had a great experience in the Galapagos and Peru. I highly recommend the program. The Naturalists who led us on our excursions in the Galapagos, Franklin and Billy, were outstanding. The wildlife, scenery and uniqueness of the Galapagos exceeded my lofty expectations. Machu Picchu, Cusco and the Sacred Valley in Peru were majestic, and we learned much about the Incas and the area. Our guide in Peru,Omar, was excellent, and Road Scholar with the assistance of Holbrook Travel did a wonderful job arranging our travel, booked great restaurants and places to stay. I would rate the program Challenging rather than Moderately Challenging, but I loved the physical activity we experienced which included snorkeling, hiking and kayaking in the Galapagos and long hikes in Machu Picchu.


Submitted by: Judith from Dallas, TX
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 05/05/13 - 05/21/13

This was our second Road Scholar trip. Last August we went to Botswana and Zambia in Africa and came back thinking that it was so great that any future trip would not be able to measure up.... boy were we wrong. This trip was great! I am an experiential learner so this was right up my alley. I need to touch it, see it, smell it, play with it to really learn about it... and I did. Thank you.


Submitted by: Mary from Phoenix, AZ
Number of programs attended: 3
Date attended: 05/03/13 - 05/19/13

This is a wonderful combination of nature and history. The Galapagos snorkeling was even better than I expected. We also enjoyed being able to go back to Machu Picchu on our own. We had time to include the wonderful Machu Picchu Museum and Botanical Garden (just outside Aqua Calientes).


Submitted by: Terri from Queensbury, NY
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 04/07/13 - 04/23/13

We just got back last week from this amazing trip. Truly memorable! I have to agree with all the previous reviews. And, yes - it was very strenuous. You need decent agility and balance for both wet and dry landings. But, we made all excursions as each one was offered something unique. All guides in all locations were awesome and extremely helpful in managing all travel transitions (planes, trains and buses). We had one travel glitch right at the beginning. Prior to the trip, I checked our flight confirmations on line and saw there was a problem with our Miami connection from JFK. American Airlines told me we ween't confirmed through Quito. When I called Holbrook they assured me all was OK. It was not. At JFK, we spent an hour between phone calls with Holbrook, American staff and them both to LAN to straighten it out. Very unnecessary stress! The Galaven was OK. We had some mechanical problems that were had been assured would be fixed 2 days into our cruise. It was never fixed. There were some other things that I'd rather say were more isolated to this cruise. Crew was nice and accommodating, food OK, and our itinerary was kept although we cruised at a slower speed. Be sure to bring plenty of underwear - clothes do not dry fast or well in The Galapagos! Hotels in other places were great. The only place without a hairdryer was the boat, Only our Cusco hotel did not have 110v, but they loaned a converter to us. Overall, truly a trip of a lifetime! This was our 2nd RS trip and we can't wait to do another next year!


Submitted by: Jane from Amarillo, TX
Number of programs attended: 10
Date attended: 02/10/13 - 02/26/13

The Galapagos-Macchu Picchu trip was beyond fabulous. If you are to be on the Galaven for the Galapagos portion, expect steep climbs if you re in a lower stateroom. And hope for a room with two beds. Otherwise, the rooms are simple but adequate. The food was somewhat disappointing aboard ship, but overall the experience was wonderful. Expect it to be a little more strenuous than advertised. My husband and I were really, really worn out at the end of each day, and he had to back out on a couple of excursions. But, overall, we were more than satisfied with Road Scholar's planning and execution of this life time dream of a trip.


Submitted by: Morris from Merced, CA
Number of programs attended: 19
Date attended: 01/20/13 - 02/05/13

Awesome Trip! I was immersed in so much information and South American territory in just two short weeks. Now that the trip is over, we are still enjoying the experience and following up in more detail of the places visited. As a veteran of many Road Scholar trips I can easily say the tour organization, and execution of the many events, was the finest I have experienced. At every turn; meals, boarding passes, luggage, hotels, buses, trains, ticketing, even one delayed airline flight: there was always an attentive tour guide there to insure the process was on schedule and the group was accounted for and informed. My only disappointment was the scheduling of flights. The starting flight arrived much too late (2am) and the departure left much too early (10pm) to enjoy the beautiful hotels that had been reserved (and paid) for our use. Dave has the right idea.


Submitted by: Dave from Saint-Lambert, QC
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 01/20/13 - 02/05/13

As Joe states below (he was with our group) it was a marvelous experience and we saw and did a lot of very interesting things. BUT we also have to say that the pace was fast with not a lot of "down" time. Quite tiring in fact and we took 5 days to recover when we returned here to Montreal! If you have mobility problems this tour is "challenging" - not "moderately challenging". And beware of the altitude as it can be quite a big issue as sea level to 11,500 feet (in 1.5 hours!) can cause some significant problems. But in the end it is a very worthwhile trip. We advise that you go at least 1 day early and stay one day or more at the end to see beautiful Lima which you barely get to see with the group on the final day.


Submitted by: Joe from Calgary, AB
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 01/20/13 - 02/05/13

Galapagos/Manchu Picchu was a success from the get-go. To borrow a well known phrase, "If you go on only one trip this year, go on this one!" You won't be disappointed.


Submitted by: Lorna from Cortland, KS
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 01/04/13 - 01/20/13

Our trip to Galapogos was a 40 year old dream for us. We were worried that we would be disappointed in the adventure, but it could not have been better. Our guides & fellow travelers made the trip so enjoyable. We will definitely go with Road's Scholar again.


Submitted by: J Dianne from Seattle, WA
Number of programs attended: 7
Date attended: 08/17/12 - 09/02/12

This program was all that we had hoped -- and then some. I learned so much about the people of Ecuador and Peru, and have great respect for the countries. The Galapagos Islands are wonderful and the Andes and their ruins amazing. It was physically quite demanding: 5-7 hours per day of rock scrambling, snorkeling, balancing on a rocking boat or train, step-climbing (often with no handrails and at high altitude.)The staff of the program were very competent and kind. Thank you for an amazing experience!


Submitted by: Patricia from Cadillac, MI
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 08/17/12 - 09/02/12

This was the trip of a lifetime. The sites we visited were amazing in themselves, but Road Scholar added to the experience with their lectures and demonstrations, giving us a much greater understanding and appreciation of their uniqueness.


Submitted by: Linda from Bowling Green, KY
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 04/06/12 - 04/22/12

This trip was one I had hoped to make for a very long time. Everything I saw, learned, and experienced, as well as Road Scholar programming, met all of my expectations and then some! I only regret not having been able to spend more time in most of the locations.


Submitted by: Olivia from Falmouth, MA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 04/06/12 - 04/22/12

The trip to Galapagos and Machu Micchu was one of the best experience of my life. I would recommend this to all my friends.









I WANT TO LEARN ABOUT ...

in

or

from:
 
Search Go
 
Add price, activity level and more.

Tell a friend about Road Scholar and this month you could win a $1,000 gift certificate!
Congratulations to our latest winner, Robert & Christina K.